T–Levels 2023-01-23T08:23:18+00:00

T – Levels: Next Generation Qualifications 

T-Levels at a glance

  • 80% classroom, 20% industry placement
  • Aimed as an alternative to A-levels
  • a technical qualification which includes core skills, theory, and concepts for the industry area
  • specialist occupational skills and knowledge of the career
  • an industry placement with an employer
  • a minimum standard in maths and English, if students haven’t already achieved this

What are T-Levels?

T Levels are a new qualification choice that follow GCSEs and give students a head-start towards the career they want. They are aimed at post—GCSE students and should be positioned as a high- quality alternative to A levels, apprenticeships, traineeships or any other post-16 option.

T Levels are based on the world’s best technical education systems and are part of government reforms to help address the skills gap and provide a clear range of options after GCSE. The courses were developed with leading employers to ensure that young people gain the knowledge and skills that businesses need.

A T Level is equivalent to 3 A levels and will attract UCAS points. They combine classroom study (80%) with a substantial industry placement (20%) and will support young people to progress into an entry-level skilled job, a higher apprenticeship or on to further study, including at university.

The vision of the government is that T Levels will become the option of choice for the majority of 16-18 year olds who want to progress into skilled employment or onto higher levels of technical education.

Different Types of T-Levels Currently Available

  • accounting
  • agriculture, land management and production
  • animal care and management
  • building services engineering for construction
  • catering
  • craft and design
  • design and development for engineering and manufacturing
  • design, surveying and planning for construction
  • digital business services
  • digital production, design and development
  • digital support and services
  • education and childcare
  • finance
  • hair, beauty and aesthetics
  • health
  • healthcare science
  • legal
  • maintenance, installation and repair for engineering and manufacturing
  • management and administration
  • engineering, manufacturing, processing and control
  • media, broadcast and production
  • onsite construction
  • science

Additional providers will be approved to deliver T Levels from September 2022

The first 3 T Level courses launched in September 2020 at 43 selected colleges, schools and independent training providers across England. A further 7 T Levels launched in September 2021 and will be available at more than 170 sites. The rollout continues until September 2023 when over 20 T

Levels will have launched in a greater number of providers. From 2024 it is expected that T Levels will be a mainstream technical education offer for students across England.

T Levels are being rolled out across the country in a phased approach, both in terms of courses available and the number of providers offering them. This means that not every school in England will have immediate access to the full range of T Levels in their local area. It will take time for the offer to grow and for the full availability of courses to rollout.

Current Nearest offer (Sept 2021):

  • Leyton Sixth Form College
  • Big Creative education
  • Newham Sixth Form College

Length of T-Levels

Typically these courses will last 2 years.

Useful Links

Have a look on the websites below for more useful information:



Frequently Asked Questions

What is the difference between T-Levels and other alternatives?

  • T-Levels will suit those students who know the industry or area of work they want to pursue for a career, and like the idea of a predominantly classroom- based course but with a strong practical emphasis and time in the workplace. They differ from apprenticeships which are predominantly work-based and focussed on a particular occupation; and A levels which are academic and entirely classroom based.
  • Since a T-Level is equivalent to 3 A levels, it is important to recognise the amount and rigour of learning involved. For students who need extra support before starting a T-Level, there is a 1 year transition programme.

What are the requirements for T-Level courses?

  • T-Levels are based on the same standards as apprenticeships. They are designed by employers, and will offer around 1,800 hours of study over two years. This will include a 45-day work placement. Therefore T-Levels will be more suited to students who know what occupation or industry they want to move into.
  • Some courses will require a minimum of 5 GCSE’s Grade 4-9 including English and Maths, however this may vary depending on the course.

Are T-Levels included in UCAS Tariff?

UCAS Tariff points     T-Level overall grade       A Level
168 Distinction* (A* on the core and distinction in the occupational specialism) AAA*
144 Distinction AAA
120 Merit BBB
96 Pass (C or above on the core) CCC
72 Pass (D or E on the core) DDD

What support can I get during the course?

The course will be delivered by the support of industry experts and qualified teachers so students will be supported throughout the course.

Will it cost me anything?

These courses will run in a similar way as other post-16 offers and therefore no additional cost will be placed on students.

What happens after T-Level course is complete?

Most students will seek employment within their field of study or continue to do a higher level T-Level or go to University.

If you need additional support please come and see Mr McArdle.